Hard of hearing: why increase the sound is not enough

    <i class="td-icon-views"></i>414

    Listening to a conversation as part of a cocktail is a great challenge for the hearing system. Without realizing it, it is necessary to extract, from a complex sound mixture, the sound with one voice to understand and follow it.

    blank
    A gala evening is the anxiety assured for many people who do not hear very well

    Researchers from Queen's University, led by the Dr. Ingrid Johnsrude, study how our brains are addressing this challenge and allow us to distinguish specific voices in overcrowded, noisy and disturbing environments. His studies have revealed that the brain is not based solely on incoming sounds that reach the ear to understand and retain speech, but also relies on information from other senses and previous knowledge to facilitate understanding.

    These results were presented at the 8th annual meeting of the Canadian Association of Neurosciences, held in Montreal, Canada, from May 25 to 28, 2014.

    Dr. Johnsrude's studies have exposed the subjects to a degraded or clear discourse in the presence or absence of distraction. By examining the activation of different regions of the brain while subjects were exposed to different listening conditions, Dr. Johnsrude's research revealed that the early treatment of sound, which occurs in a region of the brain called primary auditory cortex, depends on the higher linguistic skills, which are coded in other regions of the brain.

    Following a conversation in a noisy environment requires you to ignore the surrounding noises and distractions and focus on a conversational partner. While a clear discourse was understood and memorized, whether the subjects were distracted or not by other tasks, attention proved to be critically important to understand a degraded discourse.

    What you hear and understand from a conversation is influenced by what you usually hear, so it will be easier to understand a familiar voice than that of a stranger. This proved particularly true for older adults, who have shown more difficulty in understanding new voices in a cocktail situation as they get older, but have not shown a decrease in the ability to understand familiar voices in the same situation.

    "The negative side of aging is well known. As we get older, everything gets worse, says Dr. Johnsrude. "You need glasses, your memory goes, and it's harder to hear when you're converering in a busy place like a restaurant or party, where a lot of people talk at the same time. I found the positive side of aging, that's the experience. " Indeed, the experience of the elderly, as, for example, their familiarity with the voice of their loved one, helps them to compensate for the age-related declines.

    In addition, Dr. Johnsrude was able to show that the activation of certain regions of the brain, the cortex sensitive to higher-order speech, could be considered a neural signature of attentive listening. Measuring the effort required to understand speech, using the techniques developed by Dr. Johnsrude, can provide a new way to assess the efficacy and comfort of hearing aids and help researchers maximize the benefits obtained with these devices.

    Canadian Association for Neuroscience. "Cocktail party Neuroscience: making sense of voices in a crowd." ScienceDaily, 28 may 2014. www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2014/05/140528133211.htm

    In light of this study, we understand better than hearing is not just a matter of volume, but also of attention, effort, and superior linguistic skills. These last three points can be greatly improved thanks to a listening program with the Tomatis method.

    Therefore, we recommend the method to any person hearing impaired, at any age. In this regard, we invite you to read the testimony of Thérèse.

Malentendance : pourquoi augmenter le son ne suffit pas

    Écouter une conversation dans le cadre d’un cocktail constitue un grand défi pour le système auditif. Sans s’en rendre compte, il faut extraire, d’un mélange sonore complexe, le son d’une seule voix pour la comprendre et la suivre.

    Malentendance : pourquoi augmenter le son ne suffit pas
    Une soirée de gala, c’est l’angoisse assurée pour beaucoup de gens qui n’entendent pas très bien

    Des chercheurs de la Queen’s University, dirigés par le Dr Ingrid Johnsrude, étudient la façon dont nos cerveaux relèvent ce défi et nous permettent de distinguer des voix spécifiques dans des environnements surpeuplés, bruyants et dérangeants. Ses études ont révélé que le cerveau ne se base pas uniquement sur les sons entrants qui parviennent à l’oreille pour comprendre et retenir la parole, mais s’appuie également sur l’information provenant d’autres sens et de connaissances antérieures pour faciliter la compréhension.

    Ces résultats ont été présentés à la 8e assemblée annuelle de l’Association canadienne des neurosciences qui s’est tenue à Montréal, Canada, du 25 au 28 mai 2014.

    Cet article est mis à votre disposition gratuitement. Merci de nous soutenir en aimant notre page Facebook.

     

    Les études du Dr Johnsrude ont exposé les sujets à un discours dégradé ou clair en présence ou en l’absence de distraction. En examinant l’activation de différentes régions du cerveau pendant que les sujets étaient exposés à différentes conditions d’écoute, les recherches du Dr Johnsrude ont révélé que le traitement précoce du son, qui se produit dans une région du cerveau appelée cortex auditif primaire, dépend des compétences linguistiques supérieures, qui sont codées dans d’autres régions du cerveau.

    Suivre une conversation dans un environnement bruyant demande d’ignorer les bruits environnants et les distractions et de vous concentrer sur un partenaire conversationnel. Alors qu’un discours clair était compris et mémorisé, que les sujets soient distraits ou non par d’autres tâches, l’attention s’est avérée être d’une importance critique pour comprendre un discours dégradé.

    Malentendance : pourquoi augmenter le son ne suffit pas
    Écouter et comprendre ne s’appuie pas uniquement sur le message sonore

    Ce que vous entendez et comprenez d’une conversation est influencé par ce que vous avez l’habitude d’entendre, il sera donc plus facile de comprendre une voix familière que celle d’un étranger. Cela s’est avéré particulièrement vrai pour les adultes plus âgés, qui ont montré plus de difficultés à comprendre de nouvelles voix dans une situation de cocktail en vieillissant, mais n’ont pas montré une diminution de la capacité à comprendre les voix familières dans la même situation.

    «Le côté négatif du vieillissement est bien connu. En vieillissant, tout s’aggrave», explique le Dr Johnsrude. «Vous avez besoin de lunettes, votre mémoire s’en va, et il est plus difficile d’entendre lorsque vous conversez dans un endroit occupé comme un restaurant ou une fête, où beaucoup de gens parlent en même temps. J’ai trouvé le côté positif du vieillissement, c’est l’expérience.» En effet, l’expérience des personnes âgées, comme, par exemple, leur familiarité avec la voix de leur proche, les aide à compenser les baisses liées à l’âge.

    Cet article est mis à votre disposition gratuitement. Merci de nous soutenir en aimant notre page Facebook.

     

    En outre, le Dr Johnsrude a pu montrer que l’activation de certaines régions du cerveau, le cortex sensible à la parole d’ordre supérieur, pouvait être considérée comme une signature neurale de l’écoute attentive. La mesure de l’effort requis pour comprendre la parole, en utilisant les techniques développées par le Dr Johnsrude, peut fournir une nouvelle façon d’évaluer l’efficacité et le confort des prothèses auditives et aider les chercheurs à optimiser les avantages obtenus avec ces appareils.

    Canadian Association for Neuroscience. “Cocktail party neuroscience: Making sense of voices in a crowd.” ScienceDaily, 28 May 2014. www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2014/05/140528133211.htm

    À la lumière de cette étude, nous comprenons mieux qu’entendre n’est pas qu’une question de volume, mais aussi d’attention portée, d’effort, et de compétences linguistiques supérieures. Ces trois derniers points peuvent être grandement améliorés grâce à un programme d’écoute avec la méthode Tomatis.

    C’est pourquoi, nous recommandons la méthode à toute personne malentendante, et ce à tout âge. À ce sujet, nous vous invitons à lire le témoignage de Thérèse.