Music activates brain regions saved by Alzheimer's disease

    <i class="td-icon-views"></i>1232

    Have you ever had chills listening to a particularly moving piece of music? You can thank the projecting network of the brain for this emotional articulation. Surprisingly, this region is also an island of remembrance spared by the ravages of Alzheimer's disease.

    Man suffering from Alzheimer's disease
    Researchers are turning to the brain's network of projections to develop music-based treatments to help relieve anxiety in patients with dementia.

    Researchers at the University of Utah health are turning to this area of the brain to develop music-based treatments to help relieve anxiety in patients with dementia. Their research will appear in the April 2018 online issue of the journal of prevention of Alzheimer's disease.

    "People with dementia are confronted with a world that is unfamiliar to them, causing disorientation and anxiety," said Jeff Anderson, M.D., Ph.d., Associate Professor of Radiology at the University of Utah health and author of the study. "We believe that music will tap into the network of protrude brain that still works relatively well."

    Previous work has shown the effect of a personalized music program on the mood of dementia patients. The purpose of this study was to examine a mechanism that activates the attentional network in the projecting area of the brain. The results provide a new approach to anxiety, depression and agitation in patients with dementia. Activating the surrounding areas of the brain may also offer opportunities to delay the continued decline caused by the disease.

    This article is made available to you free of charge. Thank you for supporting us by loving our Facebook page.

     

    For three weeks, researchers helped participants choose meaningful songs and train the patient and caregiver on how to use a portable media player loaded with the self-selected music collection.

    "When you put headphones on patients with dementia and you play familiar music, they come to life," said Jace King, a graduate student of the brain network lab and first author of the study. "Music is like an anchor, connecting the patient in reality."

    Using a functional MRI, researchers scanned patients to mimic areas of the brain that were illuminated by listening to music excerpts of 20 seconds rather than silence. The researchers played eight music excerpts from the patient's music collection, eight clips of the same music played upside down and eight blocks of silence. The researchers compared the images of each scan.

    The researchers discovered that music activates the brain, provoking the communication of whole regions. Listening to the personal soundtrack, the Visual network, the network of projections, the Executive network and the pairs of cerebelly and cortico-cerebelly networks all showed significantly higher functional connectivity.

    Brain care Alzheimer diagram
    This is a diagram of the brain networks involved in the treatment of attention.

    "This is objective evidence obtained through brain imaging, which shows that music that makes sense to patients is an alternative way to communicate with those with Alzheimer's disease," said Norman Foster, MD, Director of the Centre for Alzheimer's disease at the University of Utah health and lead author of the study. "The ways of language and Visual memory are damaged at the onset of the disease, but personalized music programs can activate the brain, especially for patients who lose contact with their environment.

    However, these results are not sufficient to be conclusive. Researchers note the small size of the sample (17 participants) for this study. In addition, the study consisted of only one Imaging session for each patient. It remains to be known whether the effects identified in this study persist beyond a brief period of stimulation or if other areas of memory or mood are enhanced by changes in neural activation and long-term connectivity.

    "In our society, dementia diagnoses are increasingly frequent and are very resource-seeking," said Mr. Anderson. "No one says that playing music will be a cure for Alzheimer's disease, but this could make the symptoms easier to manage, decrease the cost of care and improve the patient's quality of life."

    Source: http://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2018/04/180428145111.htm
    University of Utah health. "Music activates regions of the brain spared by Alzheimer's disease." ScienceDaily, April 28, 2018. Translated by Julien frère + Google translate may 9, 2018.

    Our personalized program with the Tomatis® method

    You want to help a loved one with dementia, we can offer you a listening session to stimulate the brain in an effective way, at a rate of 2 hours a day, for one or two weeks. A handheld device TalksUp® will be entrusted to you, and you can take it with you to apply the treatment.

    To follow this specific programme, please contact the Centre Tomatis® Genève at + 41 22 519 00 11 or by means of the ad hoc form.

    This article is made available to you free of charge. Thank you for supporting us by loving our Facebook page.

La musique active les régions du cerveau épargnées par la maladie d’Alzheimer

    Vous avez eu déjà des frissons en écoutant un morceau de musique particulièrement émouvant? Vous pouvez remercier le réseau de saillance du cerveau pour cette articulation émotionnelle. Étonnamment, cette région reste aussi un ilôt de souvenir épargné par les ravages de la maladie d’Alzheimer.

    Homme souffrant de la maladie d' Alzheimer
    Des chercheurs se tournent vers le réseau de saillance du cerveau pour développer des traitements basés sur la musique afin d’aider à soulager l’anxiété chez les patients atteints de démence.

    Les chercheurs de l’Université de l’Utah Health se tournent vers cette région du cerveau pour développer des traitements basés sur la musique pour aider à soulager l’anxiété chez les patients atteints de démence. Leur recherche apparaîtra dans le numéro en ligne d’avril 2018 du Journal of Prevention of Alzheimer’s Disease.

    «Les personnes atteintes de démence sont confrontées à un monde qui ne leur est pas familier, ce qui provoque désorientation et anxiété», a déclaré Jeff Anderson, M.D., Ph.D., professeur agrégé en radiologie à l’University of Utah Health et auteur de l’étude. “Nous croyons que la musique va puiser dans le réseau de saillance du cerveau qui fonctionne encore relativement bien.”

    Des travaux antérieurs ont démontré l’effet d’un programme musical personnalisé sur l’humeur des patients atteints de démence. Cette étude visait à examiner un mécanisme qui active le réseau attentionnel dans la région de saillance du cerveau. Les résultats offrent une nouvelle façon d’aborder l’anxiété, la dépression et l’agitation chez les patients atteints de démence. L’activation des régions voisines du cerveau peut également offrir des opportunités pour retarder le déclin continu causé par la maladie.

    Cet article est mis à votre disposition gratuitement. Merci de nous soutenir en aimant notre page Facebook.

     

    Pendant trois semaines, les chercheurs ont aidé les participants à choisir des chansons significatives et à former le patient et le soignant sur la façon d’utiliser un lecteur multimédia portable chargé de la collection de musique auto-sélectionnée.

    “Lorsque vous mettez des écouteurs sur des patients atteints de démence et que vous jouez de la musique familière, ils prennent vie”, a déclaré Jace King, un étudiant diplômé du Brain Network Lab et premier auteur de l’étude. “La musique est comme une ancre, connectant le patient dans la réalité.”

    À l’aide d’une IRM fonctionnelle, les chercheurs ont scanné les patients afin d’imager les régions du cerveau qui s’éclairaient en écoutant des extraits de musique de 20 secondes plutôt que le silence. Les chercheurs ont joué huit extraits de musique de la collection de musique du patient, huit clips de la même musique joués à l’envers et huit blocs de silence. Les chercheurs ont comparé les images de chaque scan.

    Les chercheurs ont découvert que la musique active le cerveau, provoquant la communication de régions entières. En écoutant la bande-son personnelle, le réseau visuel, le réseau de saillies, le réseau exécutif et les paires de réseaux cérébelleux et cortico-cérébelleux ont tous montré une connectivité fonctionnelle significativement plus élevée.

    Diagramme cerveau attention alzheimer
    Ceci est un diagramme des réseaux cérébraux impliqués dans le traitement de l’attention.

    “Ceci est une preuve objective obtenue grâce à l’imagerie cérébrale, qui montre qu’une musique qui fait sens pour les patients est une voie alternative pour communiquer avec ceux atteints de la maladie d’Alzheimer”, a déclaré Norman Foster, MD, directeur du Centre pour la maladie d’Alzheimer à l’University of Utah Health et auteur principal de l’étude. «Les voies de la langue et de la mémoire visuelle sont endommagées au début de la maladie, mais des programmes de musique personnalisés peuvent activer le cerveau, en particulier pour les patients qui perdent le contact avec leur environnement.

    Cependant, ces résultats ne sont pas suffisants pour être concluants. Les chercheurs notent la petite taille de l’échantillon (17 participants) pour cette étude. De plus, l’étude ne comportait qu’une seule séance d’imagerie pour chaque patient. Il reste à savoir si les effets identifiés dans cette étude persistent au-delà d’une brève période de stimulation ou si d’autres zones de mémoire ou d’humeur sont améliorées par des changements dans l’activation neurale et la connectivité à long terme.

    “Dans notre société, les diagnostics de démence sont de plus en plus fréquents et sont très demandeurs de ressources”, a déclaré M. Anderson. “Personne ne dit que jouer de la musique sera un remède contre la maladie d’Alzheimer, mais cela pourrait rendre les symptômes plus faciles à gérer, diminuer le coût des soins et améliorer la qualité de vie du patient.”

    Source : http://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2018/04/180428145111.htm
    University of Utah Health. “Music activates regions of the brain spared by Alzheimer’s disease.” ScienceDaily, 28 avril 2018. Traduit par Julien Frère + Google Translate 9 mai 2018.

    Notre programme personnalisé avec la méthode Tomatis®

    Vous souhaitez aider un proche atteint de démence, nous pouvons vous proposer une session d’écoute permettant de stimuler le cerveau de manière efficace, à raison de 2 heures par jour, pendant une ou deux semaines. Un appareil portatif TalksUp® vous sera confié, et vous pourrez l’emmener avec vous pour appliquer le traitement.

    Pour suivre ce programme spécifique, merci de prendre contact avec le Centre Tomatis® Genève au +41 22 519 00 11 ou par le biais du formulaire ad hoc.

    Cet article est mis à votre disposition gratuitement. Merci de nous soutenir en aimant notre page Facebook.