Vestibular sensitivity and dizziness

    <i class="td-icon-views"></i>15040

    Sensibilité vestibulaire, de quoi parle-t-on ?

    En quelques mots, il s’agit d’un dysfonctionnement de l’oreille interne entraînant, notamment au niveau du vestibule, divers symptômes. Lorsque ces symptômes sont aigus, on parle de Meniere's disease. Even today, there are several theories that try to explain the origin of this symptom (too high internal pressure or inflammation of viral origin), on this subject, we invite you to read this very well done article: https://www.revmed.ch/RMS/2001/RMS-2364/21671. What is certain is that it reduces the quality of life of those who suffer from it on a daily basis - sometimes drastically in the case of a ménière. And the treatments usually offered are - by far - not always effective.

    blank

    When the inner ear is sensitive, it is the vestibule and cochlea that react. The symptoms related to cochlea are well known to the general public, and are generally more or less present tinnitus. Known vestibular symptoms are usually positional vertigo, such as BPPV (benign paroxysmal positional vertigo) and nausea. This is well defined when the symptoms are acute, as in the case of Ménière's disease, but when the symptoms are milder, they are often ignored. Because you can have vestibular sensitivity without having Meniere's disease. To help you know if you are affected, here are a series of symptoms of unknown vestibular origin.

    Symptoms related to vestibular sensitivity:

    • Dizziness when changing position
    • Rotating vertigoes (without changing position)
    • Mental confusion
    • Excessive fear of vacuum and heights
    • Difficulty concentrating, thinking
    • Feeling drunk when you haven't been drinking
    • Illness
    • Difficulty doing sports requiring good balance (stand-up paddle, skiing, climbing, etc.)
    • Difficulty understanding what we are told in a noisy environment
    • Sensitivity to light
    • Nausea, sometimes vomiting
    • Marked fatigue in the middle or end of the day
    • Need to take regular naps
    • Mild to moderate depression
    • Poor quality of sleep, and sometimes in certain positions
    • Intense dreams, where the physical rules of gravity do not apply (flying, floating in the air, feeling like a roller coaster, anxiety and strange sounds can also occur)

    Symptoms related to cochlear tenderness:

    • Wheezing, sporadic or constant tinnitus
    • Vrombulating, sporadic or constant tinnitus
    • Hypersensitivity to noise (hyperacusis)
    • Anxiety or even anxiety
    • Poor sleep quality due to persistent noise

    These symptoms are generally expressed chronically (in more or less marked periods), their intensity may vary. If you recognize one or more of these symptoms, we invite you to take our online test by clicking on the link below: https://tomatisgeneve.typeform.com/to/YaQoL4

    Our online test to find out if you have vestibular sensitivity

    How is sensitivity in the inner ear treated?

    Many drug treatments exist (betahistine, diuretics, antiemetics), but the mechanisms that ensure their effectiveness are still not well understood. The results are not satisfactory and the side effects are not negligible. That's why we have developed an innovative treatment based on focused pulsed red light: laser phototherapy of the inner ear. This, combined with the Tomatis® method, allows us to greatly improve the quality of life of those affected.

    Our solution: laser phototherapy for the inner ear and rehabilitation of the stirrup muscle

    Photobiomodulation in a few words

    Photobiomodulation therapy is defined as the use of non-ionizing electromagnetic energy to trigger photochemical changes in cellular structures that are receptive to photons. Mitochondria are particularly receptive to this process. At the cellular level, the energy of visible red light and near infrared (NIR) light is absorbed by the mitochondria, which are responsible for producing cellular energy called "ATP". The key to this whole process is a mitochondrial enzyme called cytochrome oxidase c, a chromophore, which accepts photonic energy of specific wavelengths. The energy of visible red near infrared (NIR) light is absorbed by the mitochondria and converted to ATP for cellular use, leading to gene transcription and then to cell repair and healing

    Our process is based on a photobiomodulation effect of the inner ear cells. The energy of locally scattered red light will allow the cells to regenerate and reduce or even completely stop the pathological (inflammatory) processes that affect the vestibule and cochlea. By doing so, we only stimulate and accelerate the body's natural processes. For those who would like to know everything about photobiomodulation, here is a scientific article https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC5436183/

    The process is completely painless, non-invasive and without any side effects. The treatment is done at the centre over about ten sessions lasting about half an hour, and an improvement is generally noted after the third session.

    Rehabilitation of the stirrup muscle

    Once the inner ear has been regenerated, we begin the second part of the treatment with a rehabilitation of the stirrup muscle according to the Tomatis® method. For Dr. Tomatis, the stirrup plays a very important role in damping the fluids in the inner ear. When fluids become agitated, they need to be regulated. This is the role of the sling bar. When it malfunctions, vertigo occurs. This dysfunction is often related to stress, which is why many emotions can arise during our treatment.

    Concretely, what are the results?

    Pour répondre à cette question, nous vous proposons de lire le témoignage de Paula et les témoignages ci-dessous :

    Testimonial received on 14.9.2019 - I benefited from the laser phototherapy method at the Tomatis centre and I am fully satisfied with the results obtained and very grateful. Thank you to the Tomatis centre for making this method known, which in my case, allowed me to have a better quality of life. I can only recommend it. Fernanda P. - Geneva

    Testimony received on 20.4.2020 - Basically, I came to the Tomatis center for a decrease in hearing and tinnitus. However, during the audio-psycho-phonological check-up, Mr. Brother noticed a vestibular sensitivity, and told me the associated symptoms. Two months have passed since my 10 sessions of laser phototherapy, and I have noticed a very clear improvement in my emotional state.

    Since my burn-out at the age of 50, the months from February to April have been associated with a depressive state. This year, and despite the Covid-19 crisis and containment, I'm in a completely different dynamic.

    Cela m’a beaucoup apporté. Je me sens vraiment légère, bien, la tête dégagée, d’humeur sociable et j’ai envie de dire bonjour à tout le monde. En ces beaux jours de printemps, j’apprécie la beauté de la nature et suis désormais positive pour la vie.

    All these years, I've felt all this heaviness, this darkness. These sessions have freed me from it.

    I'm so positive that it has an impact on those close to me: I cheer up my companion, I push him to move, whereas before I was rather aggressive with him. Now I accept him as he is, something has changed. With my ex-husband as well, we started to exchange again, believe me, it was not a foregone conclusion. Besides, my son said to me "It's incredible, you did with dad what I've been telling you to do for years."

    Lona O. - 63 years old, in Geneva.

Sensibilité vestibulaire et vertiges

    Sensibilité vestibulaire, de quoi parle-t-on ? En quelques mots, il s’agit d’un dysfonctionnement de l’oreille interne entraînant, notamment au niveau du vestibule, divers symptômes. Lorsque ces symptômes sont aigus, on parle de maladie de Ménière. Aujourd’hui encore, il existe plusieurs théories qui tentent d’expliquer l’origine de ce symptôme (pression interne trop élevée ou inflammation d’origine virale), à ce propos, nous vous invitons à lire cet article très bien fait : https://www.revmed.ch/RMS/2001/RMS-2364/21671. Ce qui est certain, c’est qu’il diminue au quotidien – parfois drastiquement dans le cas d’un ménière – la qualité de vie des personnes qui en souffrent. Et les traitements proposés habituellement ne sont – de loin – pas toujours efficaces.

    oreille interne - Sensibilité vestibulaire et vertiges

    Lorsque l’oreille interne est sensible, ce sont le vestibule et la cochlée qui réagissent. Les symptômes reliés à la cochlée sont bien connus du grand public, il s’agit en général d’acouphènes plus ou moins présents. Les symptômes vestibulaires connus sont en général des vertiges positionnels, comme les VPPB (vertige paroxystique positionnel bénin) et nausées. Ceci est bien défini quand les symptômes sont aigus, comme dans le cas d’une maladie de Ménière, mais quand les symptômes sont plus légers, il sont souvent passés sous silence. Car on peut avoir une sensibilité vestibulaire sans pour autant avoir une maladie de Ménière. Pour vous aider à savoir si vous êtes concernés, voici toute une série de symptômes d’origine vestibulaires méconnus.

    Symptômes en lien avec une sensibilité vestibulaire :

    • Vertiges lors d’un changement de position
    • Vertiges rotatoires (sans changement de position)
    • Confusion mentale
    • Peur excessive du vide et des hauteurs
    • Difficulté à se concentrer, réfléchir
    • Sensation d’ébriété alors qu’on a pas bu
    • Maladresse
    • Difficulté à faire des sports demandant un bon équilibre (stand-up paddle, ski, escalade, etc.)
    • Difficulté à comprendre ce qu’on nous dit dans un environnement bruyant
    • Sensibilité à la lumière
    • Nausées, parfois vomissements
    • Fatigue marquée en milieu ou fin de journée
    • Besoin de faire des siestes régulièrement
    • Dépression légère à modérée
    • Mauvaise qualité du sommeil, et parfois dans certaines positions
    • Rêves intenses, où les règles physiques de la gravité n’ont pas cours (voler, flotter dans l’air, impression de montagnes russes, des angoisses et des sons bizarres peuvent aussi survenir)

    Symptômes en lien avec une sensibilité cochléaire :

    • Acouphènes sifflants, sporadiques ou constants
    • Acouphènes vrombissants, sporadiques ou constants
    • Hypersensibilité aux bruits (hyperacousie)
    • Anxiété voire angoisses
    • Mauvaise qualité du sommeil à cause du bruit persistant

    Ces symptômes s’expriment en général de façon chronique (par périodes plus ou moins marquées), leur intensité peut varier. Si vous reconnaissez un ou plusieurs de ces symptômes, nous vous invitons à passer notre test en ligne en cliquant sur le lien ci-dessous : https://tomatisgeneve.typeform.com/to/YaQoL4

    Notre test en ligne pour savoir si vous avez une sensibilité vestibulaire

    Comment traite-t-on une sensibilité de l’oreille interne ?

    De nombreux traitements médicamenteux existent (bétahistine, diurétiques, antiémétiques), mais les mécanismes qui assurent leur efficacité ne sont aujourd’hui toujours pas bien compris. Les résultats ne sont pas satisfaisants et les effets secondaires ne sont pas négligeables. C’est pourquoi nous avons mis au point un traitement novateur à base de lumière rouge pulsée focalisée : la photothérapie laser de l’oreille interne. Celle-ci, couplée à la méthode Tomatis® nous permet d’améliorer grandement la qualité de vie des personnes affectées.

    Notre solution : la photothérapie laser pour l’oreille interne

    La photobiomodulation en quelques mots

    La thérapie par photobiomodulation est définie comme l’utilisation d’énergie électromagnétique non ionisante pour déclencher des changements photochimiques dans les structures cellulaires qui sont réceptives aux photons. Les mitochondries sont particulièrement réceptives à ce processus. Au niveau cellulaire, l’énergie de la lumière rouge visible et de la lumière proche infrarouge (NIR) est absorbée par les mitochondries, qui ont pour fonction de produire l’énergie cellulaire appelée “ATP”. La clé de tout ce processus est une enzyme mitochondriale appelée cytochrome oxydase c, un chromophore, qui accepte l’énergie photonique de longueurs d’onde spécifiques. L’énergie de la lumière rouge visible à infrarouge proche (NIR) est absorbée par les mitochondries et convertie en ATP pour usage cellulaire, ce qui mène à la transcription des gènes et ensuite à la réparation et à la guérison cellulaire

    Notre processus est basé sur un effet de photobiomodulation des cellules de l’oreille interne. L’énergie de la lumière rouge localement diffusée va permettre aux cellules de se régénérer et de diminuer, voire stopper complètement les processus pathologiques (inflammatoires) qui affectent le vestibule et la cochlée. En procédant de la sorte, nous ne faisons que stimuler les processus naturels du corps, et nous les accélérons. Pour ceux qui voudraient tout savoir sur la photobiomodulation, voici un article scientifique (en anglais) https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC5436183/

    Le procédé est complètement indolore, non-invasif et sans aucun effet secondaire. Le traitement se fait au centre sur une dizaine de séances d’une durée d’une heure environ, et une amélioration est en général constatée dès la troisième séance.

    Une fois l’oreille interne régénérée, nous entamons la deuxième partie du traitement avec une rééducation vestibulaire et cochléaire basée sur la méthode Tomatis®. Celle-ci permettra de rétablir une fonction vestibulaire et cochléaire normale.

    Concrètement, quels résultats ?

    Pour répondre à cette question, nous vous proposons de lire les témoignages ci-dessous :

    Témoignage reçu le 14.9.2019 – J’ai bénéficié de la méthode de photothérapie laser au centre Tomatis et je suis pleinement satisfaite des résultats obtenus et très reconnaissante. Merci au centre de Tomatis de faire connaître cette méthode qui dans mon cas, m’a permis d’avoir une meilleure qualité de vie. Je ne peux que la recommander. Fernanda P. – Genève