The intestinal microbiota influences stress and cognitive performance

    blank

    This article supports our protocol for the treatment of children with symptoms of attention deficit with pronounced hyperactivity, autistic features, or with moderate to severe autism..

    The source of the article is available in its original and complete version here : https://academic.oup.com/nutritionreviews/article/73/suppl_1/28/1819270

    In summary

    Changes in the intestinal microbiota can modulate the peripheral and central nervous systems, resulting in altered brain function and suggesting the existence of a microbiota-brain intestinal axis.

    Diet can also alter the profile of the intestinal microbiota and, consequently, behaviour. The effects of bacteria on the nervous system cannot be separated from the effects on the immune system because the two are in constant two-way communication.

    Although the composition of the intestinal microbiota varies considerably from one individual to another, alterations in the balance and content of common intestinal microbes can affect the production of molecules such as neurotransmitters, e.g. gamma-amino butyric acid, and fermentation products, e.g. short-chain butyrate, propionate and acetate fatty acids.

    Short-chain fatty acids, which are pleomorphss, in particular butyrate, positively influence host metabolism by promoting glucose and energy homeostasis, regulating immune responses and epithelial cell growth, and promoting the functioning of the central and peripheral nervous systems.

    Introduction

    The intestinal microbiota is composed of thousands of billions of microbes that influence normal physiology and alter the host's susceptibility to disease. A growing body of animal evidence supports the concept that the intestinal microbiota influences emotional behaviour. Changes in the gut or intestinal microbiota and exposure to specific bacteria can modulate the peripheral and central nervous systems (CNS) in animals, resulting in altered brain function and suggesting the existence of an intestinal microbiota-brain axis.

    Animal studies show that intestinal bacteria influence brain chemistry and development. The enteric nervous system, including the sensory vagus nerve, appears to be able to differentiate between non-pathogenic and potentially pathogenic bacteria. This may play a key role in mediating the behavioural effects of intestinal microorganisms. Because the nervous system has constant two-way communication with the immune system, the effects of bacteria on our nervous system cannot be separated from the effects on the immune system. This type of crosstalk occurs regularly and can have profound neurological and immunological effects.

    PROBIOTICS AND HEALTH

    Although the composition of the intestinal microbiota varies considerably from one individual to another, changes in the balance of common intestinal microbes can affect the production of short-chain fatty acids (SCFAs), butyrate, propionate and acetate, which are products of intestinal bacterial fermentation that regulate intestinal adaptive immune responses and play a key role in CNS function. Butyrate has direct effects on the growth, maturation and function of intestinal epithelial cells, on immune system Treg cells (regulatory T cells that play a key role in the prevention of autoimmunity), and on the nervous system.

    A recent study also revealed that AGCCs, particularly butyrate, positively influence host metabolism by activating intestinal gluconeogenesis in both insulin-sensitive and insulin-insensitive states, promoting glucose and energy homeostasis. Diets rich in non-digestible carbohydrates lower the pH in the proximal colon, which may be an important factor in butyrate production. Propionate and acetate have also been shown to promote satiety. The metabolic benefits on body weight and glucose control induced by either AGCC or dietary fibre in normal mice are absent in mice deficient in intestinal gluconeogenesis, despite similar changes in the composition of the intestinal microbiota. This finding suggests that although diet is a major factor in determining the composition of the intestinal microbiota and production of CFAS in mice, there is a strong interaction with genotype that influences the results.

    An alteration of the intestinal microbiota may also be responsible for the pathophysiology of the colon. The poor adaptation of the intestinal microbiota to the host (dysbiosis) has been implicated in the increased incidence of inflammatory diseases such as inflammatory bowel disease. Patients with inflammatory bowel disease or irritable bowel syndrome experience reduced levels of Lactobacillus and Bifidobacterium species in the gut. Animal models indicate a role for bacteria in the adequacy of immune regulation and the development of gut inflammation. It is likely that the reduced number and diversity of normal beneficial commensals such as Lactobacillus and Bifidobacteria play an important role in allowing harmful microbes such as Citrobacter rodentium and Escherichia coli to access the epithelial surface.

    Encouraging results on immune response and stress

    Animals given B. fragilis or even PSA, which trigger beneficial immune responses, may be protected against experimental colitis. Probiotics may also improve stress-induced intestinal dysfunction, in part by normalizing hypothalamus - pituitary - adrenal axis activity (HPA).

    PROBIOTICS AND BEHAVIOUR

    The microbiota influences stress

    The HPA response to stress is programmed early in life (at least in rodents). A landmark study from Japan has shown that early exposure to the intestinal microbiota reduces exaggerated HPA responses in germ-free mice in adulthood, but not when administered to adult animals. Plasma levels of ACTH and corticosterone were higher in response to stress in germ-free mice compared to specific pathogen-free mice. Studies have shown similar results in normal, healthy mice and rats, i.e. feeding a probiotic may attenuate the HPA axis response to stress. Finally, it is important to recognize that stress itself has a major impact on the composition and function of the intestinal microbiota.

    Mice fed L. rhamnosus JB-1 for 28 days experienced changes in certain gamma amino butyric acid (GABA) receptors in different regions of the brain, increased anxiolytic behaviour and inhibition of corticosterone response to acute stress.23 These changes were consistent with benzodiazepine effects. However, neurochemical and behavioural effects were not found in vagotomized animals, indicating that the vagus nerve is a major communication pathway between such bacteria in the gut and brain.23 Screening for this type of enteric nervous system activity could potentially provide potential treatments for anxiety and stress.

    Recent unpublished research shows that the amount of the neurotransmitters GABA and glutamate can be increased in the brain by feeding animals probiotic bacteria. However, the effects are limited, time-dependent and depend on the continued presence of the starting probiotic.

    Improved learning and cognition

    It has also been shown that when animals are fed L. rhamnosus bacteria, effects can be observed not only on the local nervous system, but also systemically. Indeed, the intestinal microbiota can clearly influence brain chemistry and behaviour in mice independently of the autonomic nervous system, gastrointestinal neurotransmitters, or inflammation. Fecal transplants from NIH Swiss NIH mice free of specific pathogens, which are relatively non-anxious, to BALB/c mice, which are relatively anxious, showed surprisingly that the behavior of the animals depended on the source of fecal material/microbiota. Colonization of germ-free BALB/c mice with the NIH Swiss mouse microbiota increased exploratory behavior, suggesting a decrease in anxiety and an increase in hippocampal levels of brain-derived neurotrophic factor, which is important for growth, differentiation, and maturation of neurons. In turn, colonization of germ-free NIH Swiss mice with the microbiota BALB/c reduced exploratory behavior, suggesting an increase in anxiety. These changes were not affected by vagotomy.

    Diet can also alter the profile of the intestinal microbiota and, consequently, the behaviour of the host. Li et al. showed that altering the composition of rodent diets altered the spatial memory of recipients, indicating that nutrition and diet should be considered in such studies.

    Research with a mutant bacterium lacking PSA suggests that this component is necessary and sufficient for acute activation of intestinal sensory neurons, i.e. PSA can mimic the effects of the parent organism on the nervous system, just as it can mimic its immunological effects. Thus, the components of the bacteria may themselves have the ability to affect the functions of the nervous system. These results support the concept that the luminal contents of the intestine and the bacteria they contain are important factors in determining behaviour and even cognition in animals.

    RESEARCH ON HUMANS

    The strong evidence in animals of a direct link between the intestinal microbiota and the brain has led to suggest that the effect could be similar in humans. Bercik et al. suggested that intestinal dysbiosis may contribute to psychiatric disorders in patients with intestinal disorders. However, to date, there is very little evidence in humans that probiotics will have the same neurochemical and behavioural effects observed in animals.

    In a double-blind, randomized, placebo-controlled study, Messaoudi et al. administered a probiotic formula (L. helveticus and Bifidobacerium longum) to healthy women for 30 days, then assessed the beneficiaries' level of anxiety and depression and 24-hour urine-free cortisol levels. In female volunteers, daily administration of the probiotic formula alleviated psychological distress, as indicated in 3 behavioural assessments, and 24-hour urinary cortisol was reduced in treated women.

    Stress and anxiety

    In another clinical pilot study, 39 patients with a diagnosis of chronic fatigue syndrome were selected to receive Lactobacillus casei Shirota or placebo daily for 2 months. There was a significant decrease in anxiety symptoms in the treated group.

    A more recent clinical study was conducted in 23 healthy female volunteers without gastrointestinal or psychiatric symptoms. The women were randomly assigned to groups that received either a fermented milk product (Bifidobacterium animalis, Streptococcus thermophilus, L. bulgaricus and Lactococcus lactis) or a placebo, which consisted of an unfermented milk product adjusted for taste and texture, twice daily for 4 weeks. Consumption of the fermented milk product had a robust effect on the activity of the brain regions that control the central processing of emotions and sensations, as observed with functional magnetic resonance imaging before and after consumption of the fermented milk product.

    Autistic Disorders

    Some people diagnosed with Autism Spectrum Disorders also have a spectrum of gastrointestinal abnormalities. A recent study examined an animal model for neurodevelopmental autism in which pregnant mice were injected with viral mime (POLY I: C). This produced typical stereotypical autistic behaviours in the offspring that lasted into adulthood. Oral administration of B. fragilis to pregnant mice before and immediately after birth resulted in the development of significantly reduced autistic behaviours. In this model, the administration of PSA did not prevent all abnormalities. However, the results suggest that the incidence of viral infection during pregnancy may produce lasting effects, which are potentially reversible by oral administration of particular bacteria.

    The results of these clinical studies are consistent with those observed in rats and mice and suggest that communication between the intestinal microbiota and the brain is modifiable and may provide targets for treatment of patients with an increased stress response associated with intestinal dysbiosis.

    CONCLUSION

    Changes that occur in the microbial content of the gut as a result of ingesting probiotic bacteria or otherwise altering the balance of the intestinal microbiota can trigger a variety of mechanisms. These include effects on the immune, nervous and endocrine systems of the host, which in turn influence each other, demonstrating an important role of crosstalk between the gut and the host. Behaviour, mood and stress response can all be affected by the ingestion of probiotic bacteria. These data are very promising and have generated a great deal of popular and scientific interest. There is currently a significant gap between experimental and clinical data. The challenge now is to translate these animal findings into clinical applications. In the future, the composition, diversity and function of specific probiotics, combined with a more detailed knowledge of the composition of the intestinal microbiota, could potentially help develop more effective diets and drug therapies.

    Translated from English by Google Translate, verification and corrections by J. Frère. References for the studies cited in this article are available in the original version in English.

Le microbiote intestinal influence le stress et les performances cognitives

    blank

    Cet article vient soutenir notre protocole de traitement des enfants présentant des symptômes de déficit d’attention avec hyperactivité prononcée, des traits autistiques, ou souffrant d’autisme modéré à sévère.

    La source de l’article est disponible en version originale et complète ici : https://academic.oup.com/nutritionreviews/article/73/suppl_1/28/1819270

    En résumé

    Les modifications du microbiote intestinal peuvent moduler les systèmes nerveux périphérique et central, entraînant une altération du fonctionnement du cerveau et suggérant l’existence d’un axe intestin microbiote-cerveau.

    Le régime alimentaire peut également modifier le profil du microbiote intestinal et, par conséquent, le comportement. Les effets des bactéries sur le système nerveux ne peuvent être dissociés des effets sur le système immunitaire car les deux sont en communication bidirectionnelle constante.

    Bien que la composition du microbiote intestinal varie considérablement d’un individu à l’autre, des altérations de l’équilibre et du contenu des microbes intestinaux courants peuvent affecter la production de molécules telles que les neurotransmetteurs, par exemple l’acide gamma-amino butyrique, et les produits de la fermentation, par exemple la chaîne courte. les acides gras butyrate, propionate et acétate.

    Les acides gras à chaîne courte, qui sont pléomorphes, en particulier le butyrate, influencent positivement le métabolisme de l’hôte en favorisant le glucose et l’homéostasie énergétique, en régulant les réponses immunitaires et la croissance des cellules épithéliales, et en favorisant le fonctionnement des systèmes nerveux central et périphérique.

    Introduction

    Le microbiote intestinal est composé de milliers de milliards de microbes qui influencent la physiologie normale et modifient la sensibilité de l’hôte aux maladies. Un nombre croissant de preuves chez les animaux soutient le concept selon lequel le microbiote intestinal influence le comportement émotionnel. Des changements dans le microbiote intestinal ou intestinal et l’exposition à des bactéries spécifiques peut moduler les systèmes nerveux périphérique et central (SNC) chez les animaux, entraînant une altération du fonctionnement cérébral et suggérant l’existence d’un axe microbiote intestin – cerveau.

    Des études sur les animaux montrent que les bactéries intestinales influencent la chimie du cerveau et son développement. Le système nerveux entérique, y compris le nerf vague sensoriel, semblent être capable de faire la différence entre les bactéries non pathogènes et potentiellement pathogènes. Cela peut jouer un rôle essentiel dans la médiation des effets des micro-organismes intestinaux sur le comportement. Parce que le système nerveux a une communication bidirectionnelle constante avec le système immunitaire, les effets des bactéries sur notre système nerveux ne peuvent être dissociées des effets sur le système immunitaire. Ce type de diaphonie se produit régulièrement et peut avoir des effets neurologiques et immunologiques profonds.

    PROBIOTIQUES ET SANTÉ

    Bien que la composition du microbiote intestinal varie considérablement d’un individu à l’autre, des modifications de l’équilibre des microbes intestinaux courants peuvent affecter la production des acides gras à chaîne courte (AGCC), du butyrate, du propionate et de l’acétate, qui sont des produits de la fermentation bactérienne intestinale qui régulent réponses immunitaires adaptatives intestinales et jouent un rôle clé dans la fonction du SNC. Le butyrate a des effets directs sur la croissance, la maturation et le fonctionnement des cellules épithéliales intestinales, sur les cellules Treg du système immunitaire (cellules T régulatrices qui jouent un rôle clé dans la prévention de l’auto-immunité), et sur le système nerveux.

    Une étude récente a également révélé que les AGCC, en particulier le butyrate, influençaient positivement le métabolisme de l’hôte en activant la gluconéogenèse intestinale, à la fois dans les états sensibles à l’insuline et insensibles à l’insuline, favorisant le glucose et l’homéostasie énergétique. Les régimes riches en glucides non digestibles abaissent le pH dans le côlon proximal , qui peut être un facteur important dans la production de butyrate. Il a également été démontré que le propionate et l’acétate favorisent la satiété. Les avantages métaboliques sur le poids corporel et le contrôle du glucose induits par les AGCC ou les fibres alimentaires chez les souris normales sont absents chez les souris déficientes en gluconéogenèse intestinale, malgré des modifications similaires dans la composition du microbiote intestinal. Cette constatation suggère que, bien que le régime alimentaire soit un facteur majeur dans la détermination de la composition du microbiote intestinal et la production de SCFA chez la souris, il existe une forte interaction avec le génotype qui influence les résultats.

    Une altération du microbiote intestinal peut également être responsable de la physiopathologie du côlon. La mauvaise adaptation du microbiote intestinal à l’hôte (dysbiose) a été impliquée dans l’augmentation de l’incidence des maladies inflammatoires telles que la maladie inflammatoire de l’intestin. Les patients atteints d’une maladie inflammatoire de l’intestin ou d’un syndrome du côlon irritable connaissent des niveaux réduits d’espèces de Lactobacillus et de Bifidobacterium dans l’intestin. Les modèles animaux indiquent un rôle pour les bactéries dans l’adéquation de la régulation immunitaire et le développement de l’inflammation intestinale. Il est probable que le nombre réduit et la diversité des commensaux bénéfiques normaux tels que les lactobacilles et les bifidobactéries jouent un rôle important en permettant aux microbes nuisibles tels que Citrobacter rodentium et Escherichia coli d’accéder à la surface épithéliale.

    Des résultats encourageants sur la réponse immunitaire et le stress

    Les animaux auxquels B. fragilis ou même du PSA ont été administrés, qui déclenchent des réponses immunitaires bénéfiques, peuvent être protégés contre la colite expérimentale. Les probiotiques peuvent également améliorer le dysfonctionnement intestinal induit par le stress, en partie, par la normalisation des hypothalamos – hypophyse– activité de l’axe surrénalien (HPA).

    PROBIOTIQUES ET COMPORTEMENT

    Le microbiote influence le stress

    La réaction de HPA au stress est programmée en début de vie (au moins chez les rongeurs). Une étude historique du Japon a démontré qu’une exposition précoce au microbiote intestinal réduit les réponses exagérées de HPA des souris sans germes à l’âge adulte, mais pas si elles sont administrées à des animaux adultes. Les taux plasmatiques d’ACTH et de corticostérone étaient plus élevés en réponse au stress des souris sans germes par rapport à avec des souris spécifiques exemptes d’agents pathogènes. Des études ont montré des résultats similaires chez des souris et des rats normaux et sains, c’est-à-dire que l’alimentation d’un probiotique peut atténuer la réponse de l’axe HPA au stress. Enfin, il est important de reconnaître que le stress elle-même a une conséquence majeure sur la composition et la fonction du microbiote intestinal.

    Les souris nourries de L. rhamnosus JB-1 pendant 28 jours ont connu des changements dans certains récepteurs de l’acide gamma amino butyrique (GABA) dans différentes régions du cerveau, une augmentation du comportement anxiolytique et une inhibition de la réponse de la corticostérone au stress aigu.23 Ces changements étaient compatibles avec la benzodiazépine effets. Les effets neurochimiques et comportementaux n’ont cependant pas été trouvés chez les animaux vagotomisés, ce qui indique que le nerf vague est une voie de communication majeure entre de telles bactéries dans l’intestin et le cerveau.23 Le dépistage de ce type d’activité du système nerveux entérique pourrait éventuellement fournir des traitements potentiels pour l’anxiété et le stress.

    Des recherches récentes non publiées montrent que la quantité de neurotransmetteurs GABA et de glutamate peut être augmentée dans le cerveau en nourrissant les animaux avec des bactéries probiotiques. Cependant, les effets sont limités, dépendent du temps et dépendent de la présence continue du probiotique de départ.

    Une amélioration des apprentissages et de la cognition

    Il a également été démontré que lorsque les animaux sont nourris avec la bactérie L. rhamnosus, des effets peuvent être observés non seulement sur le système nerveux local, mais également sur le plan systémique. En effet, le microbiote intestinal peut clairement influencer la chimie et le comportement du cerveau chez la souris indépendamment du système nerveux autonome, des neurotransmetteurs gastro-intestinaux, ou d’une inflammation. Des greffes fécales de souris suisses NIH exemptes de pathogènes spécifiques, qui ne sont relativement pas anxieuses, à des souris BALB / c, qui sont relativement anxieuses, ont montré de manière surprenante que le comportement des animaux dépendait de la source de matière fécale / microbiote. La colonisation de souris BALB / c exemptes de germes avec le microbiote de souris NIH Swiss a augmenté le comportement exploratoire, suggérant une diminution de l’anxiété et une augmentation des niveaux hippocampiques de facteur neurotrophique dérivé du cerveau, ce qui est important pour la croissance, la différenciation et la maturation des neurones. À son tour, la colonisation de souris NIH Swiss sans germes avec le microbiote BALB / c a réduit le comportement exploratoire, suggérant une augmentation de l’anxiété. Ces changements n’ont pas été affectés par la vagotomie.

    Le régime alimentaire peut également modifier le profil du microbiote intestinal et, par conséquent, le comportement de l’hôte. Li et al. ont montré que la modification de la composition du régime alimentaire des rongeurs altérait la mémoire spatiale des receveurs, indiquant que la nutrition et le régime alimentaire devaient être pris en compte dans de telles études.

    La recherche avec une bactérie mutante dépourvue de PSA suggère que ce composant est nécessaire et suffisant pour l’activation aiguë des neurones sensoriels intestinaux, c’est-à-dire que le PSA peut imiter les effets de l’organisme parent sur le système nerveux, tout comme il peut imiter ses effets immunologiques. Ainsi, les composants des bactéries peuvent eux-mêmes avoir la capacité d’affecter les fonctions du système nerveux. Ces résultats soutiennent le concept selon lequel le contenu luminal de l’intestin et les bactéries qu’ils contiennent sont des facteurs importants pour déterminer le comportement et même la cognition chez les animaux.

    LA RECHERCHE SUR LES HUMAINS

    La forte évidence chez les animaux d’un lien direct entre le microbiote intestinal et le cerveau a conduit à suggérer que l’effet pourrait être similaire chez l’homme. Bercik et al. ont suggéré que la dysbiose intestinale pourrait contribuer aux troubles psychiatriques chez les patients souffrant de troubles intestinaux. Cependant, à ce jour, il y a très peu de preuves chez l’homme que les probiotiques auront les mêmes effets neurochimiques et comportementaux observés chez les animaux.

    Dans une étude en double aveugle, randomisée et contrôlée par placebo, Messaoudi et al. ont administré une formule probiotique (L. helveticus et Bifidobacerium longum) à des femmes en bonne santé pendant 30 jours, puis évalué le niveau d’anxiété et de dépression des bénéficiaires et 24- h taux de cortisol sans urine. Chez les volontaires féminines, l’administration quotidienne de la formule probiotique a atténué la détresse psychologique, comme indiqué dans 3 évaluations comportementales, et le cortisol urinaire sur 24 heures a été réduit chez les femmes traitées.

    Stress et anxiété

    Dans une autre étude pilote clinique, 39 patients avec un diagnostic de syndrome de fatigue chronique ont été sélectionnés pour recevoir Lactobacillus casei Shirota ou un placebo quotidiennement pendant 2 mois. Il y avait une diminution significative des symptômes d’anxiété dans le groupe traité.

    Une étude clinique plus récente a été réalisée chez 23 femmes volontaires saines sans symptômes gastro-intestinaux ou psychiatriques. Les femmes ont été réparties au hasard dans des groupes ayant reçu soit un produit laitier fermenté (Bifidobacterium animalis, Streptococcus thermophilus, L. bulgaricus et Lactococcus lactis) soit un placebo, qui consistait en un produit laitier non fermenté ajusté en fonction du goût et de la texture, deux fois par jour pendant 4 semaines. La consommation du produit laitier fermenté a eu un effet robuste sur l’activité des régions cérébrales qui contrôlent le traitement central des émotions et des sensations, comme observé avec l’imagerie par résonance magnétique fonctionnelle avant et après la consommation du produit laitier fermenté.

    Troubles autistiques

    Certaines personnes diagnostiquées avec des troubles du spectre autistique présentent également un spectre d’anomalies gastro-intestinales. Une étude récente a examiné un modèle animal pour les troubles du développement neurologique de l’autisme dans lequel des souris enceintes ont reçu une injection de mime viral (POLY I: C). Cela a produit des comportements autistiques stéréotypés typiques chez la progéniture qui ont duré jusqu’à l’âge adulte. L’administration orale de B. fragilis à des souris gravides avant et immédiatement après la naissance a entraîné le développement de comportements autistiques considérablement réduits. Dans ce modèle, l’administration de PSA n’a pas empêché toutes les anomalies. Cependant, les résultats suggèrent que l’incidence d’une infection virale au cours de la grossesse peut produire des effets durables, qui sont potentiellement réversibles par l’administration orale de bactéries particulières.

    Les résultats de ces études cliniques sont cohérents avec ceux observés chez le rat et la souris et suggèrent que la communication entre le microbiote intestinal et le cerveau est modifiable et peut fournir des cibles pour le traitement des patients présentant une réponse au stress accrue associée à une dysbiose intestinale.

    CONCLUSION

    Les changements qui se produisent dans le contenu microbien de l’intestin à la suite de l’ingestion de bactéries probiotiques ou de la modification de l’équilibre du microbiote intestinal d’une autre manière peuvent déclencher une variété de mécanismes. Ceux-ci incluent des effets sur les systèmes immunitaire, nerveux et endocrinien de l’hôte, qui à leur tour s’influencent mutuellement, démontrant un rôle important de la diaphonie entre l’intestin et l’hôte. Le comportement, l’humeur et la réponse au stress peuvent tous être affectés par l’ingestion de bactéries probiotiques. Ces données sont très prometteuses et ont suscité un grand intérêt populaire et scientifique. Il existe actuellement un écart important entre les données expérimentales et cliniques. Le défi consiste maintenant à traduire ces découvertes animales en applications cliniques. À l’avenir, la composition, la diversité et la fonction de probiotiques spécifiques, associées à une connaissance plus détaillée de la composition du microbiote intestinal, pourraient potentiellement aider à développer des régimes alimentaires et des thérapies médicamenteuses plus efficaces.

    Traduit de l’anglais par Google Translate, vérification et corrections par J. Frère. Les références des études citées dans cet article sont disponibles dans la version originale en anglais.